Pennisi formally declared mayor by Electoral Commission

Vic Pennisi.

By Jeremy Sollars

Vic Pennisi has been formally declared Mayor of the Southern Downs Regional Council by the Electoral Commission of Queensland.

The formal declaration notice was posted by the ECQ just a short time ago this evening, Monday 6 April.

Updated mayoral count figures posted on the ECQ website tonight are as follows –

• Vic Pennisi 9427 (44.28%)

• Tracy Dobie 7755 (36.42%)

• Peter Kemp 3059 (14.37%)

• Joe Doepel 1050 (4.93%)

The percentages reflect the breakdown of the 21,807 votes counted up until today in the mayoral ballot – it is understood a small number of postal votes are still expected to arrive tomorrow, Tuesday, but these will not affect the outcome of the mayoral ballot.

The number of voters who did not register a vote at all is yet to be confirmed but is expected to be higher than average due to COVID-19.

The top 12 councillor candidates as of tonight (declarations expected Tuesday) in order are –

1. Ross Bartley

2. Cameron Gow

3. Jo McNally

4. Andrew Gale

5. Sheryl Windle

6. Marco Gliori

7. Cynthia McDonald

8. Stephen Tancred

9. Glyn Rees

10. Russell Wantling

11. Rod Kelly

12. Michael Jensen

The top 8 of those candidates are almost certain to be declared councillor, but the eighth spot remains slightly in doubt as of tonight – this will be determined by postal votes received tomorrow.

• Comment is being sought from Vic Pennisi on his declaration as mayor – more online tomorrow at

Your first stop before buying a home. View the whole picture.